Count it all …

Standard

20140203-070830.jpg
There is a point when you really feel grown up. Not necessarily like when you were 18 or 21 and ran around telling everyone, “I’m grown!”, like I did. No, this “grown” requires no announcement and is that turning point when you really feel like I don’t have to answer to anyone but myself and God, and you truly recognize that all those little cliches are indeed true.

I’m starting to feel that. I don’t know if it’s because 40 is now closer than 30, or because it’s a new year or what, but it feels good. It feels good to not be as worried about trivial things and know that trouble really doesn’t last always. It’s not really as bad as it seems , life really is good and all of that.

Since the start of the new year, I’ve been reading lots of social media posts about this one detoxing, that one’s daily fitness updates, this one’s 10-day challenges, that one going vegan for 30 days, and still others have been “giving back” with posts promising surprises sent to the first 7 respondents. Since Feb. 1, there has been a barrage of Black History Month posts. No matter the subject, people are committed to whatever niche they’ve selected and they follow up with it faithfully.

One friend, last year, decided to post daily about her day. It was nothing fancy, just a quick, “Day X was for …” and she was done. In honor of those posts I’ve decided to commit this year to joy. Just pure, simple joy. Whether received or given, whether I’m feeling it or not, I’m going to count it all joy. Everyday I’m going to identify something that brings me joy and I’m going to share that happiness with the world.

Joy Journey: Day 1

“(Insert any noun or verb here) gives me life!”

For some reason that above statement irks me. Not sure why, it just sounds so contrived. But just for today I'm giving it a pass because everything is giving me life today, and that life brings me joy! I'm going to revel in this euphoria and truly celebrate life with abandon today.

Comments are closed.